ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Biomedical and Life Sciences Division Special Libraries Association Tuesday, June 17, 2008, 7:00 AM – 8:30 AM Convention Center, Seattle, Washington

Final Meeting Minutes

Attendance (based on small notepad passed around): William Anger, Roger Berkman, Barry Brown, Renee Bush, Tara Cataldo, Dan Chandler, Bonnie Chojnacki, Jean Crampon, Nancy Curtis, Cheryl Dee, Nita Ferree, Tom Harrod, Buzz Haughton, Barbara Hedges, Christy Hightower, Sara Hill-Blackwell, Steve Hoare, Chris Hooper-Lane, Doc Macbeth, Eleanor MacLean, Anna Therese McGowan, Beth Paskoff, Jacquelyn Petzold, Kathy Quinn, Dave Robertson, Amanda Ross-White, Meredith Salsa, Diane Schmidt, Janette Schueller, Pamela Shaw, Tony Stankus, Nancy Stimson, John Tebo, Michele Tennant, Janet Cooper Weiss, Brian Westra, Brian Winterman, Larry Wright,

- **1. Welcome ---John Tebo.** Everyone was welcomed. The executive board was introduced. The vendor sponsor was thanked. Additions to the agenda were solicited. A petition supporting the funding of the U.S. National Agricultural Library was distributed for signing.
- **2. Approval of June 5, 2007, Denver, Annual Business Meeting Minutes---Barry Brown.** Draft minutes were distributed. A move to approve was made by Tony Stankus and seconded by Larry Wright.
- **3. Treasurer's Report---John Tebo for Deanna Johnson.** A handout of the DBIO Treasurer's Report was distributed and briefly discussed.
- **4. Medical Section---William Anger.** The section is doing well. Program announcements were made.
- **5. Seattle Program---Diane Schmidt.** Applause was given for the committee's work. Please attend the DBIO programs.
- **6. Fund Development Committee---Jean Crampon**. Jean stated that there is a list on the table of all vendors who are supporting the DBIO programs. Please thank them. If you would like to join the Fund Development Committee let her know.
- 7. Membership---Nancy Curtis. Nancy asked for committee volunteers. Landmark DBIO anniversaries were announced for 20 year memberships (Cecilia (Penny) N. Boyle; Renee B. Bush; Elissa Cochran; T. Joan Crouze; Esther Khoo Johnson; Steven P. Johnson; Michelle A. Lahey; Judy A. Lee; Douglas T. Macbeth; Debra J. McCurry; Susan M. Murray; Laurie J. Scott; Lois P. Sill; Kate Vranich); 25 year memberships (Mary C. Chaikin; Erlinda A. Counts; Bridget T. Kowalczyk; Ramune K. Kubilius; Eileen H. Stanley); 30 year memberships (Bill Cohen; Betty Edwards; Carol A. Feltes; Patricia L. Thibodeau); and 35 year memberships (Dr. Ruth E. Fenske; Jeanne L. Galbraith; Maxine Goldsmith; Mary Lao; Irene S. Laursen; Ingrid Radkey; Fred W. Roper; Gail A. Yokote).

- **8. Awards---John Tebo.** Three awards for outstanding contributions to the Division and the profession were given. The 2008 Chair's Recognition Award went to Carol Lepzelter Berry. The Distinguished Member Award was given to Janet Weiss. The Winifred Sewell Prize was presented to Diane Schmidt. For each award John read a proclamation explaining the award and the many accomplishments of the individuals receiving them. Note: the Summer 2008 issue of Biofeedback has a detailed article about this.
- **9. Nominating Committee---Janet Weiss.** She solicited volunteers to run for Chair-elect and for Treasurer. Please contact her by July 15th.
- **10. Student Relations---Brian Winterman.** He tried to stay in touch with students this year and is thinking of additional ways to reach out to them via blogs, etc. There were a good pool of applicants for the DBIO travel stipend. Two students received awards but one had to back out.

11. Old Business: None.

12. New Business:

Washington, DC Program Committee---Nancy Dickenson. They are busy with planning next years conference and invite anyone interested to join the committee. They have a planning meeting today. There is a lot planned, by SLA, for the centennial celebration. John Tebo mentioned that each chapter is being asked to donate money to the celebration; this was discussed at Saturday's Board Meeting but the Board decided to postpone a decision until the Treasurer reviewed the division's fund balance after the conference. Tony Stankus announced the idea of the DBIO 100 most important journals initiative. It will be tied into a celebration at the conference, it fits the conference theme, it involves everyone in DBIO; he welcomes participation for drawing up the lists.

Strategic Planning---Nancy Stimson. John Tebo acknowledged that Peggy Jones and Nancy Stimson have stepped up to lead the division's strategic planning process; the Board is trying to engage all members in this process and encourages everyone to attend the upcoming board meeting. Nancy communicated that the strategic planning committee started with survey results from DBIO members and then the committee did a SWOT analysis. At the upcoming board meeting dedicated to Strategic Planning there will be call-ins available via a WebEx online conference system for participation and interactivity between remote and physical attendees on this process. There will be a facilitator. The purpose of the session is brainstorming for a new vision statement and strategic plan.

13. Announcements:

Bonnie Chojnacki briefly talked about the SLA Ethics Ambassador program. It is an initiative of the SLA Public Relations.

Nancy Curtis distributed postcards and encouraged everyone to send them to potential attendees of the Seattle SLA conference.

Jean Crampon thanked John Tebo for his service and mentioned that she's bought him a gift but left it in her room and will give it to him tomorrow.

14. Adjournment: Janet Weiss called for adjournment – all were in favor and none opposed.